01736 797168

England v West Indies Cricket Tests Series January 2019


England v West Indies Test Series – January 2019

Where and when do England start their Test series against the West Indies?

First Test: Wednesday 23 January, Kensington Oval, Barbados
Second Test: Thursday 31 January, Sir Vivian Richards Stadium, Antigua
Third Test: Saturday 9 February, Darren Sammy National Cricket Stadium, Saint Lucia

Tomorrow marks the start of the England v West Indies Test Series and it begins at 10am local time (2pm UK Time) at the Kensington Oval, Barbados.

  • England Test squad: Joe Root (capt), Moeen Ali, James Anderson, Jonny Bairstow (wk), Stuart Broad, Rory Burns, Jos Buttler, Sam Curran, Joe Denly, Ben Foakes (wk), Keaton Jennings, Jack Leach, Adil Rashid, Ben Stokes, Olly Stone, Chris Woakes.
  • West Indies 1st Test squad: Jason Holder (capt), Kraigg Brathwaite, Darren Bravo, Shamarh Brooks, John Campbell, Roston Chase, Shane Dowrich (wk), Shannon Gabriel, Shimron Hetmyer, Shai Hope (wk), Alzarri Joseph, Kemar Roach, Oshane Thomas, Jomel Warrican.

A winnable World Cup and the chance to regain the Ashes, both on home soil – 2019 promises to be one of English cricket’s biggest years.

Following their recent whitewash of Sri Lanka it begins with the three-test series in the West Indies and the first match in Barbados.
England, currently ranked third in the world, are No1 favourites against a lacking West Indies side who recently lost 2-0 in Bangladesh and are still without some of their biggest stars.
Former captain Alastair Cook says that the England’s Test team face a “balancing act” because wicketkeeper Ben Foakes has “changed the dynamic of the side”.
Foakes, 25, scored a century on his debut against Sri Lanka in November and impressed behind the stumps after replacing the injured Jonny Bairstow.
Bairstow, 29, returned with a ton batting at three and will play as a specialist batsman against West Indies.
“It’s very hard to get the right amount of specialist batting now,” said Cook.
“Foakes definitely deserves to play so it becomes a balancing act to get the team right.”

The England ODI squad would also like to follow up their series 3-1 win against Sri Lanka with success against the West Indies. The ODI series starts on 20th February with the opening two games in Barbados, the following two in Grenada and the final game in St Lucia
England ODI squad: Eoin Morgan (capt), Moeen Ali, Jonny Bairstow, Jos Buttler (wk), Tom Curran, Joe Denly, Alex Hales, Liam Plunkett, Adil Rashid, Joe Root, Jason Roy, Ben Stokes, David Willey, Chris Woakes, Mark Wood.

About the Author

Leave a Reply